## Award for Best Article in Names: A Journal of Onomastics 2010

Frank Nuessel

University of Louisville, USA

At its annual meeting in San Francisco January 8–11, 2009, the American Name Society agreed to provide an annual award for the best article in *Names*.

The Award Committee usually consists of the Executive Council Members at Large. For 2010, they are:

- 1. Dwan Shipley, Western Washington University, USA (Chair, 2010)
- 2. Michael F. McGoff, Binghamton University, SUNY, USA (2010) standing in for Ernest Abel, Wayne State University, USA
- 3. Edward Callary, Northern Illinois University, USA (2010) standing in for Iman Laversuch, University of Cologne, Germany

Each year, one new member is elected to the Executive Council and one member rotates off.

The Award Committee operates completely independently of the Editor. The award is given to only one article per year. The decision of the Award Committee is final. The criteria include: (1) the significance of the article, and (2) the significance of the article to the science of onomastics. The decision of the Award Committee is final.

The Award Committee has informed me that this year's Award winner is Dr Małgorzata Rutkiewicz-Hanczewska (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland) for her article entitled "Proper Names in the Polish Global Reality," published in *Names: A Journal of Onomastics* 58(3): 159–68.

The award consists of a plaque that reads as follows:

The American Name Society
Recognizes
Name(s) of Author(s)
For the Best Article to Appear in Names: A Journal of Onomastics
For the year 2010

## Previous award winners

2009. Denis Huschka, Jürgen Gerhards, and Gert G. Wagner for their article entitled "Naming Differences in Divided Germany," which appeared in *Names* 57(4): 208–28.

The Award Committee members deserve special mention for their exceptional hard work and dedication in reviewing meticulously all of the articles that appeared in volume 58 (2010) before making their final decision.