## Award for Best Article in Names: A Journal of Onomastics 2011

FRANK NUESSEL University of Louisville, USA

At its annual meeting in San Francisco January 8–11 2009, the American Name Society agreed to provide an annual award for the best article in *NAMES*. We are now in the third year of this award.

The 2011 Award Committee consists of the following individuals:

- 1. Dwan Shipley, Western Washington University, USA
- 2. Michael F. McGoff, Binghamton University, SUNY, USA
- 3. John Algeo, Professor Emeritus, University of Georgia, USA

The Award Committee operates completely independently of the Editor. The award is given to only one article per year. The decision of the Award Committee is final. The criteria include: (I) the significance of the article, and (2) the significance of the article to the science of onomastics. The decision of the Award Committee is final.

The award consists of a plaque that reads as follows:

The American Name Society Recognizes Name(s) of Author(s) For the Best Article to Appear in NAMES: A Journal of Onomastics For the year 2011

The Award Committee has informed me that this year's Award winner is Carol G. Lombard, The University of the Free State (Bloemfontein, South Africa), for her article entitled "The Sociocultural Significance of *Niitsitapi* Personal Names: An Ethnographic Analysis," published in *NAMES: A Journal of Onomastics* 59(1) (2011): 42–51.

## Previous award winners

**2009.** Denis Huschka, Jürgen Gerhards, and Gert G. Wagner for their article entitled "Naming Differences in Divided Germany," which appeared in *NAMES: A Journal of Onomastics* 57:4 (2009): 208–228. (Award Committee: Michael McGoff, Bruce L. Brown, and Iman Laversuch).

**2010.** Dr Małgorzata Rutkiewicz-Hanczewska (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland) for her article entitled "Proper Names in the Polish Global Reality," published in *NAMES: A Journal of Onomastics* 58(3): 159–168. (Award Committee: Dwan Shipley, Edward Callary, and Michael McGoff.)

The Award Committee members deserve special mention for their exceptional hard work and dedication in reviewing meticulously all of the articles that appeared in volume 59 (2011) before making their final decision. (Award Committee: Dwan Shipley, Michael McGoff, John Algeo.)